Vidyanagar College

About The Department of History

The Department of History was established on the 29th of July, 1963 which, was also the date of the inception of the college with, Professor Sachidananda Sarkar and Dr. Sasanka Sekhar Parui. At the initial stage History was taught in the Higher Secondary level. In the undergraduate level it was taught as a General Course. The Honours course in History was introduced in the year 2002. The introduction of the Honours course is a stepping stone towards academic advancement of the department as well as the college. The department is offering courses pertaining to CBCS curriculum and the newly introduced NEP-CCF 22 (Credit Curriculum Framework) curriculum at the undergraduate level. The department is presently headed by Dr. Arunima Ray (Chowdhury). Dr. Alak Kumar Chakrabarti is the senior most faculty of the department. Sri. Pijush Kumar Dalapati and Smt. Debshila Dawn, brilliant alumni of the department, are two other faculty members.
Scroll to Top