Vidyanagar College

About The Department of English

Department of English was established along with the inception of Vidyanagar College on 29th July, 1963. It was one of the few earliest active departments of the institution. In the beginning, the department was catering to the +2 students and the Compulsory Language Paper to the Under Graduate students. English as a General subject in the Under Graduate Courses (B.A) was introduced in session 2003-04. Stalwarts like Prof. Majushree Banerjee, Prof. Biswanath Kayal, Prof. Moloy Ranjan Dey and Prof. Somnath Basu worked in the Department as Faculty members in the past. At present the Department is headed by Prof. Subrata Sar. Prof. Sahidur Rahaman Lasker, Prof. Ankita Adhikary and Prof. Pritthwish Das are working as faculty members of the department under the leadership of Prof. Subrata Sar. The department started offering B.A. English Honours in the institution three years later in session 2006-07. Since then, the Department has been active in offering courses in all newer models of curriculum. The Honours course commenced its journey with B.A (2+1) yearly system followed by (1+1+1) curriculum and CBCS (6 semesters) curriculum. From session 2023-24, the department is following the NEPCCF 2022 curriculum in offering the U.G courses. At present, there is a sanction to accommodate only 47 candidates for the Honours course. The Department also plays an important role in offering (D.D.E R.B.U) M.A in English as a P.G degree course since the session 2006-07.
Scroll to Top